Transplant

So, I went back to my rheumatologist yesterday to talk to him about me starting Imuran (a medicine most often used for people with transplants) in addition to Humira. I had two questions:

  • Even though, I’m really unlikely to get pregnant, will this stuff poison my unlikely babies? (Imuran is classified as Class D).
  • Can I possibly do something to hedge off the nausea that is listed as a like common side effect?

So, here’s the answers he gave me, in reverse order, for effect:

  • “No.  Hope you don’t feel too bad.”
  • “No, I use this for my lupus patients to help them get pregnant since their disease is worse for the fetus than the possible risks from the medicine.”

The response in my head:

Angry Bird… Me

WTF!  G-D MFer!  DID YOU NOT HEAR ME SAY FOR TWO YEARS I WAS SPENDING $25,000 TO TRY TO GET PREGNANT AND YOU HAVE A CHEAP F-ing MEDICINE THAT YOU KNOW HELPS IMMUNO-COMPROMISED PATIENTS GET PREGNANT????FFFFFFFFF!

My actual response was more like, “wow, maybe it’ll do what $25,000 and 5 procedures couldn’t.”

Seriously.  He said that.  He seriously said that he uses this medicine, especially with younger women, because he doesn’t want them to have a hard time getting pregnant.

I’m just going to assume that this medicine is no different than any other and won’t be any more effective at getting me pregnant, so that I don’t go crazy and start throwing things at him (I’ve been playing a lot of angry birds lately).  I do hope it helps with my psoriasis though.

And, for the record, I’ve only eaten a bowl of soup today because I can barely look at food without feeling like I’m going to ralf all over the place constantly.  Ah, yeah, the fun never stops.

10 thoughts on “Transplant

  1. How frustrating! I just love it when I feel like my doctor’s been holding out on me. Well, I hope it at least serves its intended purpose and makes you feel a whole lot better!

  2. OMG! This is why I HATE my Rheumy. Even the lady who does my eye refractions for new lenses (not the fancy dude for the autoimmune eye disease) took into consideration my TTC and IVF. HOW on earth could your rheumy not have mentioned this to you oh, I’ll cut him some slack, $15,000 ago? Ridiculous.

    FWIW, Imuran is what I will go on if/when my eyes get bad enough. My rheumy did say that studies are being conducted currently and it appears to be the safest immune suppressing drug for pregnancy. But that is just what he said and we know how rheumies can be. 😦

    I also intended to comment on a post a while ago that you don’t feel you “belong” in this club. You do. So very much. No matter how you build your family or how long and drawn out the process may take you still need a place to put your thoughts. I had MONTHS and months between my treatments when I really had very little to contribute. Didn’t stop me, though, and I’m glad to have the journal now. Also, I have found only a handful of autoimmune TTC blogs and very much appreciate your input.

    • Awww, thanks, Belle, for your kind words and good news. I’m hopeful since we’ve both heard the same thing that if I do ever get that miracle pregnancy that things might actually be okay.

      I’ve always appreciated your writing and am so happy for you!

  3. BLEH!!!!!! really? would have been nice to know that a little while ago, no?

    i hope it works though and gives you some relief. hell, isnt the placebo effect up to like 25% for certain trials? so even if it doesnt work, maybe keep your hopes up and feel 25% better?

    really annoying about your doc though. what a bonehead.

    • Bonehead is a good word for it! I hope I get that 25% boost. I read all about the placebo affect in some book once, and it is a real, observable thing. Isn’t that interesting? I know some poeple think it’s BS, but I think we can do a lot of internal healing without meds sometimes.

Thanks for commenting!

