How Do You Like Them Apples?

Okay, so I’ve blogged (countless times) before about weight and health.  I hear people say things about weight being a “constant battle,” and though it sounds like hyperbole, I think it’s maybe more true that I’d like for it to be.

I remember a time, long, long ago, when I didn’t really think about weight.  I was slightly bigger than other girls my age, but I liked the way I looked and I was in the healthy range, so whatevs.  That all changed about 7 or 8 years ago when I gained about 40 pounds (after doing the Atkins diet as a kind of a personal challenge, not so much for weight loss).  Now, there’s a good bit of that (and more) that I feel so frustrated by.  The funny (not funny) thing is that ever since then, I’m way more health conscious.   In my early 20s, I literally survived on Frui.t Loops, baked potatoes, noodles with zucchinni, and cheese sandwiches for WEEKS at a time.  That was my entire diet.  I didn’t drink tea or worry about refined sugar.  I only ate beans that had been covered with cheese and cooked into a mushy paste.  Nuts?  You gotta be kidding.  Only if they were cooked into a pecan pie.  I always loved vegetables…but I used to think that the more butter that I put on them, the better they were.

Now, it’s so different.  I can’t even imagine how much I’d weigh if I still ate like that.  I walk and work out now.  I eat healthy foods 80% of the time, and feel really guilty about that other 20% most of the time.  I’ve lost a little bit of weight since Jan (15-20 pounds, depending on what time of the month it is — I bloat a lot near my period).  I’m down from a size 14 to a comfortable size 12 and a sometimes if I don’t mind it being a little tight 10.  I WANT to be a size 6-8 though.

So, the battle rages on — this month, my new weapon is WHOLE FOODS.  With every meal, I have to eat things that are not processed at all, and I have to eat big portions of them.  So, lots of fresh greens and fresh vegetables and fruits.  I also am drinking tons and tons of water and only tea and coffee (except that one Coke Zero I had yesterday).  I’m also walking or going to the gym every day.  I’m not as good as Belle and her folks on their detox (no caffeine, what!  I did that for IVF and I’m SO OVER IT!)

We’ll see how that fat on my thighs likes these apples (and cherries and cucumbers and sweet potatoes)!

8 thoughts on “How Do You Like Them Apples?

  1. Heh. Your diet in your twenties sounds familiar. I ate a lot of salads and vegetable soups (I miss the salad bars) but also: noodleroni, and cokes. I don’t like coffee, so cokes were my source of caffeine. I gave them up (mostly) when I turned 28. Glad you are eating healthy 🙂

    • I have a coke now and again, as a treat. I love them still, but try to stay away from anything that sweet and/or carbonated. But not liking coffee? What? How do you survive?

  2. I have days I still eat like I’m in college–followed by an entire day of “making up for it.” I’m not up for the detox, either, but I keep telling myself I can do better. 15-20 pounds lost is amazing! That’s something to be proud of!

  3. woot woot for whol.e foods (not the store)!! i was 3 sizes (and that’s in even numbered sizes like 2, 4, 6, 8, 10, 12, 14, etc.) bigger than i am now when i was in my early twenties. ever since i read something about thinking about food in terms of whol.e foods and started living that way, i’ve been satisfied hunger-wise and able to maintain the same weight for ~15 years. i eat cheese, burgers, hella lotta veggies, little bit of fruit but not much, whole grain breads, eggs, nuts (not in a pecan pie though, hehe), garlic and real spices (not mixed up salty “seasonings”). olives (good ones, not sliced black olives from a stupid can) and good mustard are the most processed things i’ll eat. i drink red wine and wholesome beer and black coffee. no latte kiddie drinks and nothing alcoholic that is pink, blue or green. and it’s a good bet you could get me to eat dog shit before i’d touch a po.p tart. [on the off chance that someone is goog.ling dog shit + po.p tart i dont want them to land here. i’m sure kello.g’s will come out with a dog shit po.p tart if said person just waits long enough. ]

    i hope whol.e foods works for you and makes your belly happy and helps you to focus on enjoying food as much as it did for me!!!

    • Thanks so much, Jak. Oh, god, po.p tart.s are so awful. If you want a good laugh, read the label next time you’re in the grocery store — they’re advertised now as being full of vitamins and minerals. ARE YOU KIDDING???!!!

      I hope that this idea gets me down 3 sizes, though I’m going to have to work on my attraction to things that contain refined sugar next (like my favorite coffee creamer…).

  4. Good for you! I’m wholly behind the real food diet – it’s helped me to lose a hell of a lot of weight so far and more importantly, it’s delicious! Good luck with your journey – I look forward to reading more about it 🙂

    • It seems way easier than other things. No real rules … just look at something and see if it resembles what it looked like when it was growing. If so, eat it. If not…try to avoid it. Thanks for your encouragement.

Thanks for commenting!

