What’s in a Day?

So, I haven’t been very bloggery lately.  I’ve been checking in, mostly to see what’s going on with my bloggy friends and was stunned and devastated by Belle’s news.  Dammit, the world just seems so unfair sometimes.  What a difference a day can make.  What an awful thing for my blog friend to have to go through.  I hope she can stay focused and make it through, just one day at a time, remembering that this day will be over and the next will come and eventually this day will just be a memory, one that’s a stark contrast to the other beautiful days to come.

*********

 I saw a lady today with a baby in a stroller.  The baby was WAILING, she was texting. I’m not judging her.  She might have been texting with her mom about the best way to stop a baby from crying (she looked about 17 years old, 20 tops).  But, when I saw her and heard that baby, I wanted to go pick that little ole thing up and help it feel better. ( Again, I’m sure she did too, and I don’t know her situation, so please don’t misinterpret.  I’m also not a baby stealer, just in case you were going there….)

I think about the world sometimes and realize how much a day matters.  How much can change in just a single day.  When we went to the RE and heard, in no uncertain terms, that our chances for US, as in me and DH, to have a baby that was created by US were slim to none, well that day changed a lot, for me, for how I see myself, for how I think of my future.

Since that day, I see so much differently.  I still very much want to be a mother and I know that one day I will be.  One day, I’ll be not a mom, then the next day, I will be.  I don’t know what exactly will happen between now and that day, but I know that day is coming.  DH (I wish I had a clever name for him) and I will figure all of this out and we will make it happen.  One day.

Today, though, I’ve spent time focusing on my dogs, my students, my stepkids, my husband, my home and myself.  We’re planning a few trips coming up and those days will be wonderful.  

Today, I will focus on that one day and try to remember what a difference (in a good way) a day can make.

10 thoughts on “What’s in a Day?

  1. I love this post! Definitely one day can make a difference in so many things in life. May your ‘one day’ come soon.

    It took me a while to figure out something for DH also. Now he is referred to as Mr Siili (siili = hedgehog, in Finnish), because he (and myself) likes the funny little creatures. Think about it and something will come. 🙂

  2. you are already a mom and don’t let anyone tell you otherwise. it might take time and a different course to complete your momminess, but you have already started. being a stepmum is hard work. i know it. i am a stepmum in a somewhat similar place (3 yrs IF, 3 failed iui’s, in the middle of our first ivf and dont really know what’s next if this doesnt work). i dont know your situation, but for me as a stepmum i have to parent indirectly, which as far as i can tell, is sometimes harder than being the parent;P and no one gives you credit (except hopefully your dh) for figuring out how to indirectly parent and fit into a blended situation gracefully. so kudos to you and hang in there for the completion of your momminess:) !

    • Oh, you are so right about how hard it is to indirectly parent. It’s a tightrope act for sure. I hope you have a great experience with this IVF; I’m keeping my fingers crossed for you.

  3. I like your attitude. It’s hard to maintain that when so much can happen to rock your world in just one day. But a day can also hold rewards and gifts, which so many of us deserve! I’m glad you are focussing on enjoying your gifts as you wait for the day when you get your ultimate reward. 🙂 Hugs and happy ICLW… It’s good to hear from you.

    • Thanks for coming by and saying hello! It is hard to maintain that attitude, and I try to keep this blog as a reminder to come back to the positive and possible because it’s way to easy to get stuck on the other side.

Thanks for commenting!

