IVF #2, Stim Day 3

ETA:  If you’d like a 15% off coupon for Circle + Bloom, email me at eighteenyearsblogger at gmail dot com.

Today is Day 3 of Stims.  I went for the ultrasound and bloodwork on Saturday morning.  All systems were go.  So far, things are going well.  I will have been stuck with or stuck myself with 11 needles so far by the time today is over.  It feels like more.

Here are the medications I’m doing now:

Morning:

  • 225 IUs Gonal F (3 vials), given intramuscular IM
  • 50 mg DHEA
  • 2000 IUs D3
  • PNV with 1 mg Folic Acid
  • 2.4 mg Folic Acid
  • 81 mg ASA (1 baby aspirin)
  • Doxycycline

Evening:

  • 225 IUs Gonal-F (3 vials), IM
  • 15 IUs low dose HCG
  • Metformin, 50 mg
  • Doxycycline
  • Flax seed, fish oil, tonalin (all healthy oils)

So far, I feel fine, just keep getting hot when no one else is complaining of the heat.  I’m almost completely off caffeine (1 small tea today, will be down to none tomorrow).  I’m drinking tons of water too in hopes of staving off some of the terrible bloating that happened last time.

I go for another check in tomorrow — more bloodwork (another needle stick!) and a visit with Wandy, oh, how Wandy missed me.  The RE reminded me last time that we want quality not quantity.  I have to think though that all these medications, including the pretty high dose of  the Gonal F indicates that we’re trying for quality too.  I have to do the Gonal F IM because I think that they worried my body was using up the medications too quickly (last time I did 3 vials of Follistim, only in the afternoon, subcutaneously with the low dose HCG).

I saw my rheumatologist yesterday, who thinks it’s highly unlikely that Medrol had anything to do with my flare last time.  He thinks that dumping this much hormones into an autoimmune disease person like myself is bound to lead to all kinds of wacky stuff.  So, I hope the prednisone/medrol combo will combat some of that.  I wish I knew an easy way to find other folks with autoimmune conditions who are doing/have done IVF.  Dr./Mr.Fixit Google is letting me down on that one.

I’m also going to download the Circle + Bloom meditation files I think and listen to those at night.  It will be good to have something positive said to me to block out any worries that might creep up.

2 thoughts on “IVF #2, Stim Day 3

Thanks for commenting!

