IVF #2, More BCP and Starting Metformin Day

Well, I have a plan of sorts now.  I start my second set of birth control pills today and take those until March 28.

I’m also starting Metformin (glucophage) today.  I’m taking that because the RE is doing everything possible to make more eggs.  Last time, I had 9 follicles and 5 eggs (4 fertilized and 3 made it to a 3 day transfer).  The egg quality was good, but I want to have more.  I’m also taking DHEA and have been since the failed IVF stuff back in September (or maybe it was October).

I’m a little worried about metformin because I keep hearing about the “upset stomach” it can cause.  I really hope that doesn’t mean I’m going to be dying with stomach cramps for the next 6 weeks.  If anyone has any information about this medication, I’d love to hear it.

My calendar so far:

Now until April 1:  BCP and Metformin

April 1:  Start stims

April 12: Expected retrieval

So, here’s hoping that April is a lovely month for my ovaries!

ETA:  I just looked at the bottle of metformin and found out I’m not supposed to have any alcohol at all while taking this.  I’m glad I had that martini last night, for sure!

7 thoughts on “IVF #2, More BCP and Starting Metformin Day

  1. Hi! I am here from ICLW. Metformin was rough on my until I got used to it. I did have bad stomach cramps and diarrhea too. I have talked to others whom it didn’t affect at all. So maybe you will be one of the lucky ones. I was on Met for years until I switched REs and he took me off of it. This will be my 2nd IVF, so I am curious to see if it does affect eggs or not. Good luck to you!

    • Oh, man, I’m sure that I’ll end up with stomach issues. My stomach is pretty reactive to medications, especially new ones. I threw up from the BCP. I’m curious too… and hopeful. Nice to meet you!

  2. Hello! So happy to have found you through ICLW!! I’ve added you to my blogroll so I can follow you and cheer you on through IVF #2. I’ll be just a bit behind you with FET #1. Hoping we both get our BFPs soon!!

  3. Wishing you a successful IVF process. Keep on working out now to get strong – because soon you’ll be making a nice little nest for your embies to snuggle in.

    Happy ICLW Week!

Thanks for commenting!

