Completely unrelated to IF

So, I caved. Long ago, I read 2 or 3 of Charlaine Harris’s Southern Vampire mysteries.  They were okay, but not great.  When I saw Club Dead in the bookstore, I decided not to buy it.  I didn’t dislike the books, but I didn’t want to spend any more money on them. I figured they’d be those books that you get given to you by other people eventually,and I’d finish reading them then.

As I am without “real” cable, as in no HBO, I didn’t really know about True Blood until last season.  One of my friends kept asking me about it.  I thought it was a take-off of Twilight… then I found out it was related to those books that I’d considered practically inconsequential (fun… but not excellent).  I told this friend, “Meh.  The books weren’t that great.  I doubt I’ll like the show all that much.”

Oh, how much I was wrong.  I started watching the show, just because I have Netflix and I could get it sent to me for free.  Plus, another friend, one whose opinion on pop culture I actually value, said “you must watch True Blood.  It’s totally fun.  Just watch it.”

I did.  She was right.  It is totally fun.  I’m only on Season 2, but I like what I’ve seen so far.

2 thoughts on “Completely unrelated to IF

  1. lol, you only read the first two?! The fourth is the best and you stopped way to early. I skip the first two whenever I reread the series. And…sadly I’m a little addicted to the show too. But really, it’s crap when compaired to the books. At least it’s different enough to keep you on your toes.

  2. I am planning to pick up with the third tomorrow on my Audible. It figures that I read the first two, then quit before they got really good.

    I like Anna Paquin as Sookie. She’s not quite what I had imagined, but that makes it better.

Thanks for commenting!

